The Danish Parliament

Folketinget is the name of Denmark's parliament, which is located in a historical setting at Christiansborg Palace, often just called Borgen (the castle in Danish), on the island of Slotsholmen in Copenhagen.

Folketinget, together with the monarch, has the legislative power in Denmark and has had it since the birth of the Danish Constitution in 1849. The Danish monarch's power is limited to signing the laws that are passed by the parliament, and is therefore in practice more a symbolic power.

Originally there were two parliamentary chambers, a chamber representing the people, and a chamber representing the aristocracy. The Constitution of 1953 united the two chambers into one parliament.

Members of the parliament are elected by the people. Everyone with a Danish citizenship and who is 18 years of age are eligible to vote.

The parliament on TV

The Danish parliament has always been surrounded by mystery and conspiracy theories. Many films such as the Danish Kongekabale (King's Game), and Danish TV series such as The Killing and Borgen have played out in the corridors of Christiansborg.

Visit the parliament

The meetings in the Danish parliament are open to the public. If you want to attend a meeting you can attend meetings on the listed days and times (see elsewhere on this page). Note that you must first go through security in the Danish Parliament's visitors' service, which can take 15 minutes, so come early.

You can also go on a free guided tour of 45 minutes (see possible dates elsewhere on this page). Note that tickets for these tours can be picked up from 10:00 in the morning on the day of the guided tour, and tickets are available on a first come first served basis.

Normally you pass by the Prime Minister portraits, the galleries, board committees and the chamber. There are lockers at the entrance in case you need to store your belongings during the visit.

Share this page

Last updated by

Wonderful Copenhagen



Christiansborg Slot 1
1240 København K

Correo electrónico


+45 3337 3221



Longitude : 12.580537205
Latitude : 55.675548562